Sweet France : Auvergne – Rhône-Alpes

Let’s get some fresh air!

This region includes 12 departments:

  • The Ain
  • The Allier
  • The Ardèche
  • Cantal
  • The Drôme
  • Isère
  • The Loire
  • The Haute-Loire
  • Puy-De-Dôme
  • The Rhone
  • Savoy
  • Haute-Savoie


Capital of this region, its centre bears witness to 2000 years of history. You only have to go and see its Roman amphitheatre of the Three Gauls, take a walk in old Lyon or visit the Saint Jean-Baptiste cathedral to realise it.

Don’t forget to go to the Museum of Fine Arts housed in a 17th century convent.


Mountains and more mountains! Yes, you have a choice: in the Alps, in the Auvergne, in the Macif Central or in the Jura, there is a little piece of mountain that you will love in winter as in summer.


This region also has plenty of places to take care of yourself. Whether in St Gervais Mont Blanc in Haute-Savoie or Vichy in Auvergne, taking time for your well-being has never been easier.


It is one of the largest lakes in Europe. You can also take advantage of it to discover the medieval city of Annecy.


Let us also mention some honourable mentions for the most beautiful villages of the region such as Pérouges in the Ain, Vogüé in Ardèche, Le Poët-Laval in the Drôme, Saint Antoine l’Abbaye in Isère, Sainte croix en Jarez in the Loire, Oingt in the Rhône, Bonneval sur Arc in Savoy or Yvoire in Haute-Savoie. And this is only for the Rhône-Alpes part.

For the Auvergne part, I will quote: Salers in Cantal, Montpeyroux in Puy-De-Dôme, Blesle in Haute-Loire and Charroux in Allier.


Vulcania is a scientific centre entirely dedicated to the cultivation and exploration of the volcanoes of Auvergne.

Next week, I will take you to the largest region of France which happens to be mine: Occitania.

Laisser un commentaire